OF THE GENERAL STORE
Nestled in small
village just outside the bustling city of Ann Arbor, Michigan, the
Dixboro General Store has long been a landmark to neighboring
1840, seven years before the birth of Thomas Edison and nearly
20 years before the beginning of the Civil War, the store, which
sold general merchandise, survived early on by trade with locals
and voyagers traveling by horse and buggy on the narrow dirt
road that it sat on. Our busy Plymouth road was once the main
route connecting Detroit and Ann Arbor, taking a team of horses
with a load of goods a minimum of three days.
The turn of the
century brought changes to the Dixboro General Store, when the
Dixboro post office operated within it from 1890 to 1905, and
hair cuts were given in a small corner of the store. The
upstairs of the building usually housed the merchants family who
often entertained neighbors on the front porch with their
guitars and fiddles. The east side of the current store which
now houses our "bear room", player piano and kitchen, was actually
a separate house. This house was built shortly after the store
and was later purchased by one store owner to move his family to
after they outgrew the upstairs. Around 1915 and continuing for
many years, the upstairs of the store was used as a Saturday
night dance hall. The popular hardwood dance floor that was put
in place in 1920's is the same floor you walk on today.
In the 1920's,
the store owner installed a gas pump and sold gasoline for those
fashionable Model T's that replaced the four-legged
transportation. It was also during that decade that an addition
was put on the east side of the store, doubling it's previous
size, and convict labor paved Plymouth road to better accommodate
those University of Michigan football fans!
The store thrived
until World War II, where hard times forced its closing until
1947 when it reopened with a prosperous forecast. A small hot
dog stand was even set out front to attract the many cars now
traveling the popular Plymouth road.
In 1964 the store changed from general merchandise to antiques
and remained an antique store until the 1980's.
1990, Allan and Cheryl Goode purchased the dilapidated landmark
with dreams of restoring the 150-year-old building and housing
their successful country retail business there. It took them
nearly a year to rejuvenate the historical structure, overhaul
the barns and landscaping, fill the building with home
accessories, and promote and advertise the new "Dixboro
General Store". All the while, hoping that "if
they built it, people would come."
most recent chapter began in 2007, when longtime employee Steve
Dani, and his wife Brenda, purchased the store from the Goodes,
with the hope of continuing the tradition of providing great
service, great selection, and an experience that is truly
Come take one
step over the threshold of this legendary building and enjoy
taking several steps back in time.